Nobel Prizes 2003
[Les Prix Nobel]

Edited By Tore Frangsmyr
December 2004
Almqvist & Wiksell
ISBN: 9185848409
366 pages, Illustrated, 6 " x 9 "
$195.00 Hardcover

The Nobel Foundation is the organization to which has been entrusted the fortune bequeathed by Alfred Nobel in order to enable a Prize to be awarded to the most deserving person in each of the following fields: Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine, Literature, and Peace.

The Foundation is the administrative body of the institutions which award the Nobel Prizes. The essential task of its Board is to administer the funds and the other property of the Foundation. The institutions responsible for awarding the Prizes elect delegates who, in turn, elect the members of the board.

Contents include: The Nobel Institutions, The Prize-Winners and Citations, The Nobel Ceremonies, The Nobel Insignia and the Amount of the Prizes, the Nobel Lectures, The Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel. Prize Winners: Physics: Alexei Abrikosov, Vitaly Ginzburg, Anthony Leggett; Chemistry: Peter Agre, Roderick MacKinnon; Physiology or Medicine: Paul Lauterbur, Peter Mansfield; John Coetzee; Peace: Shirin Ebadi; Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel: Robert Engle III, Clive Granger.

Science; Literature

Return to Coronet Books main page